Navigation auf uzh.ch

Suche

Art x Science Office

Event Series: Art x Science

Farbige Wand

Artists and researchers both aim to better understand the world, but they use different tools to do so. Together, these two cultures can achieve something that neither of them can accomplish alone. This event series highlights the potential of collaboration between disruptors and problem solvers.

Upcoming Events 2024

Public Guided Tour: Art at the University of Zurich with Dr. Kathrin Frauenfelder

March 28, 2024 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Main Building University of Zurich, Main Entrance Rämistrasse

The University of Zurich: Art and Architecture, New Forms of Art (Part III)
The university building was repeatedly rebuilt and adapted to the growing number of students. Rooms were extended and redesigned, often with massive interventions in the fabric of the building. In the course of these changes, new works of art were acquired through competitions or direct commissions. In this guided tour, we will discuss questions of art and architecture, focusing on works by Carlo Vivarelli, Adrian Schiess, Pipilotti Rist and Santiago Calatrava. 

The tour will be held in German. Registration required.

Sign up here.

Past Events 2024

Public Guided Tour: Art at the University of Zurich with Dr. Kathrin Frauenfelder

January 25, 2024 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Irchelpark, in front of the entrance of the State Archives of the Canton of Zurich

The University of Zurich: Art on the Irchel Campus (Part II)
For the design of the new university campus, a nationwide public competition was announced in the 1970s to promote artistic design. Out of the 500 submitted projects, 21 were realized. Who were these artists, and how did the art concepts on the campus evolve during the various construction stages? We will be looking at works by artists such as Florin Granwehr, Gottfried Honegger, Marguerite Hersberger, and Thomas Hirschhorn.

Past Events 2023

Public Guided Tour: Art at the University of Zurich with Dr. Kathrin Frauenfelder

November 30, 2023 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Main Building
University Center, Entrance Künstlergasse

The University of Zurich: Art and Its Stories
How does the university acquire its art? At the beginning of the 20th century, the architectural firm Curjel & Moser aimed not only to construct a university building but also pursued the concept of a total work of art. This idea convinced the client. During the tour of the university's main building, we will not only view works by artists such as Carl Burckhardt, Augusto Giacometti, or Paul Bodmer, but we will also hear the fascinating stories that led to their creation.

artflirt at UZH (event in English)

2. November 2023
16:30 - 17:30
Lichthof, City Campus, University of Zurich

The UZH campus is full of art – but in the semester rush, it is so easy to overlook it! artflirt is a fun way to engage with it. Join in, meet other students, and together, discover your relationship with art while taking pictures.
With subsequent get-together.

Past Events 2022

September 13, 2022

William L. Fox, Founding Director of the Center for Art + Environment, Nevada Museum of Art

William L. Fox is the Founding Director of the Center for Art + Environment at the Nevada Museum of Art and has been described as an art critic, science writer, and cultural geographer. Fox's numerous non-fiction books are based on fieldwork with artists and scientists in extreme environments, forming the basis of his investigations. He has published hundreds of essays in art and photography magazines and fifteen poetry collections. As an artist, Fox has been featured in numerous group and solo exhibitions. He is a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society and the Explorers Club and has received grants from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and the National Science Foundation.

September 20, 2022

Gerfried Stocker, Managing and Artistic Director of Ars Electronica

Gerfried Stocker is a media artist and a communications engineer, and since 1995, he has been the Artistic Director and Co-Managing Director of Ars Electronica. In 1995/96, he developed exhibition strategies for the Ars Electronica Center with a small team of artists and technicians and was responsible for the establishment and development of the Ars Electronica's own R&D department, the Ars Electronica Futurelab. He has developed the program of international Ars Electronica exhibitions, planned and content-wise redesigned the Ars Electronica Center, expanded the Ars Electronica Festival, and thoroughly revised the content and design of the Ars Electronica Center. In 2019, he was awarded an honorary doctorate by Aalto University in Finland.

September 27, 2022

Lynn Hershman Leeson, Artist

Over the past five decades, artist and filmmaker Lynn Hershman Leeson has gained international recognition through her art and films. Hershman Leeson is regarded as one of the most influential media artists, widely known for her innovative work addressing themes that are considered core social issues today: the relationship between humans and technology, issues of identity and surveillance, and the use of media as a means of empowerment against censorship and political oppression. Over the past fifty years, she has made groundbreaking contributions in photography, video, film, performance, artificial intelligence, bioart, installations, and interactive and web-based media art.

Past Events 2021:

October 19, 2021

Paola Antonelli, Senior Curator for Architecture and Design / Director of Research and Development at MoMA

October 12, 2021

Aparna Rao, Artist in Residence at the Wyss Institute of UZH and ETH Zurich

October 5, 2021

Julia Buntaine Hoel, Conceptual Artist and Founding Director of the SciArt Initiative

September 28, 2021

Prof. Dr. Michael John Gorman, Founding Director of Biotopia, Founding Director of the Science Gallery at Trinity College in Dublin

Weiterführende Informationen

Kontakt

Dr. Katharina Weikl

Ausstellungen und transdisziplinäre Projekte / Art & Science
Email

Navigation auf uzh.ch

Art x Science Office

Eventreihe: Art & Science

Farbige Wand

Künstler:innen und Forschende streben beide danach, die Welt besser zu verstehen, aber nutzen unterschiedliche Werkzeuge dafür. Gemeinsam können die beiden Kulturen etwas erreichen, was keine von ihnen allein zustande bringt. Diese Eventreihe zeigt auf, welches Potenzial die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Störenfrieden und Problemlöser:innen birgt.

Bevorstehende Veranstaltungen 2024

Öffentliche Führung: Kunst an der Universität Zürich mit Dr. Kathrin Frauenfelder

28. März 2024
18:00 - 19:00 Uhr
Hauptgebäude Universität Zentrum, Haupteingang Rämistrasse

Die Universität Zürich: Kunst und Bau, neue Formen der Kunst (Teil III)
Wiederholt wurde das Kollegiengebäude umgebaut und der wachsenden Zahl der Studierenden angepasst. Die Räume wurden erweitert und umgestaltet, dies oft mit massiven Eingriffen in die Bausubstanz. Im Zuge dieser Veränderungen wurden mittels Wettbewerben oder Direktaufträgen neue Kunstwerke erworben. In dieser Führung widmen wir uns Fragen zu Kunst und Bau und fokussieren auf Werke von Carlo Vivarelli, Adrian Schiess, Pipilotti Rist oder Santiago Calatrava. 

Die Führung wird auf Deutsch stattfinden. Anmeldung erforderlich.

Hier anmelden.

Vergangene Veranstaltungen 2024

Öffentliche Führung: Kunst an der Universität Zürich mit Dr. Kathrin Frauenfelder

25. Januar 2024
17:00 - 18:00 Uhr
Irchelpark, vor dem Eingang des Staatsarchivs 

Die Universität Zürich: die Kunst auf dem Campus Irchel (Teil II)
Für die Gestaltung des neuen Universitätsgeländes wurde in den 1970er Jahren ein gesamtschweizerischer öffentlicher Wettbewerb im Sinne der Nachwuchsförderung für die künstlerische Gestaltung ausgeschrieben. Von den 500 eingereichten Projekten wurden 21 realisiert. Wer waren diese Künstler:innen? Und wie haben sich die Kunstkonzepte auf dem Campus während der verschiedenen Bauetappen in der Folge entwickelt? Wir betrachten unter anderem Werke von Florin Granwehr, Gottfried Honegger, Marguerite Hersberger oder Thomas Hirschhorn.  

Vergangene Veranstaltungen 2023:

Öffentliche Führung: Kunst an der Universität Zürich mit Dr. Kathrin Frauenfelder

30. November 2023
18:00 - 19:00 Uhr
Hauptgebäude Universität Zentrum, Eingang Künstlergasse

Die Universität Zürich: die Kunst und ihre Geschichten
Wie kommt die Universität zu ihrer Kunst? Das Architekturbüro Curjel & Moser wollte zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts nicht nur ein Universitätsgebäude errichten, sondern verfolgte zugleich das Konzept eines Gesamtkunstwerkes. Dieses Ansinnen überzeugte die Bauherrschaft. Während der Führung durch das Kollegiengebäude betrachten wir nicht nur Werke wie beispielsweise jene von Carl Burckhardt, Augusto Giacometti oder Paul Bodmer, sondern wir hören auch die spannenden Geschichten, die zu ihrer Entstehung führten. 

 

artflirt at UZH (event in English)

2. November 2023
16:30 - 17:30
Lichthof, City Campus, University of Zurich

The UZH campus is full of art – but in the semester rush, it is so easy to overlook it! artflirt is a fun way to engage with it. Join in, meet other students, and together, discover your relationship with art while taking pictures.
With subsequent get-together.

Vergangene Veranstaltungen 2022:

13. September 2022

William L. Fox, Founding Director Center for Art + Environment, Nevada Museum of Art

William L. Fox ist Founding Director des Center for Art + Environment am Nevada Museum of Art und wurde wahlweise als Kunstkritiker, Wissenschaftsautor und Kulturgeograf bezeichnet. Fox' zahlreiche Sachbücher stützen sich auf Feldforschungen mit Künstlern und Wissenschaftlern in extremen Umgebungen, die die Grundlage für seine Untersuchungen bilden. Er hat Hunderte von Essays in Kunst- und Fotografiemagazinen und fünfzehn Gedichtsammlungen veröffentlicht. Als Künstler war Fox in zahlreichen Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen vertreten. Er ist Fellow der Royal Geographical Society und des Explorers Club und erhielt Stipendien von der Guggenheim Foundation, dem National Endowment for the Humanities und der National Science Foundation.

 

20. September 2022

Gerfried Stocker, Managing and Artistic Director of Ars Electronica 

Gerfried Stocker ist Medienkünstler, Ingenieur für Kommunikationstechnik und seit 1995 künstlerischer Leiter und Co-Geschäftsführer der Ars Electronica. 1995/96 entwickelte er mit einem kleinen Team von Künstler:innen und Techniker:innen die Ausstellungsstrategien des Ars Electronica Center und war für den Aufbau und die Etablierung der Ars Electronica eigenen R&D-Abteilung, dem Ars Electronica Futurelab, verantwortlich. Er hat das Programm der internationalen Ars Electronica-Ausstellungen entwickelt, das Ars Electronica Center geplant und inhaltlich neu gestaltet, das Ars Electronica Festival ausgebaut und das Ars Electronica Center inhaltlich und gestalterisch umfassend überarbeitet. Im Jahr 2019 wurde ihm die Ehrendoktorwürde der finnischen Aalto-Universität verliehen.

 

27. September 2022

Lynn Hershman Leeson, Artist

In den letzten fünf Jahrzehnten hat die Künstlerin und Filmemacherin Lynn Hershman Leeson mit ihrer Kunst und ihren Filmen internationales Ansehen erlangt. Hershman Leeson gilt als eine der einflussreichsten Medienkünstlerinnen und ist weithin bekannt für ihre innovativen Arbeiten, die sich mit Themen befassen, die heute als gesellschaftliche Kernthemen gelten: die Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Technologie, Fragen der Identität und der Überwachung sowie der Einsatz von Medien als Mittel der Ermächtigung gegen Zensur und politische Unterdrückung. In den letzten fünfzig Jahren hat sie bahnbrechende Beiträge in den Bereichen Fotografie, Video, Film, Performance, künstliche Intelligenz, Biokunst, Installationen und interaktive sowie netzbasierte Medienkunst geleistet.

 

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Vergangene Veranstaltungen 2021

19. Oktober 2021

Paola Antonelli, Senior-Kuratorin für Architektur und Design / Direktorin für Forschung und Entwicklung am MoMA

12. Oktober 2021
Aparna Rao, artist in residence am Wyss-Institut der UZH und ETHZ

5. Oktober 2021
Julia Buntaine Hoel, Konzeptkünstlerin und Gründungsgeschäftsführerin der SciArt Initiative

28. September 2021
Prof. Dr. Michael John Gorman, Gründungsdirektor von Biotopia, Gründungsdirektor der Science Gallery am Trinity College in Dublin

Weiterführende Informationen

Kontakt

Dr. Katharina Weikl

Ausstellungen und transdisziplinäre Projekte / Art & Science
Email